Mercenary & Cryx Partisan Cephalyx Unit
As little as surface dwellers know of the cephalyx, they know even less about the subterranean race's cruel overlords. These dark beings project an alien menace as they hover in the shadows and mentally direct lesser cephalyx in enigmatic errands. That overlords control cephalyx society seems clear, though the details of their hierarchy remains as mysterious as their telepathic communication. With their bulbous and distended heads protected behind smooth shells of leather and brass with multiple glowing eyes, overlords appear even more inhuman than their slaver counterparts.
| Unit Size
Weapons & Attacks
- Prosthetic Blade - Melee weapon with average reach and low P+S.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
- Mercenary - Will work for Cryx.
- Partisan (Cryx) - When included in a Cryx army, this model/unit is a Cryx model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
- Selective - this model can only be included in a Mercenary force that is using a Cephalyx theme.
- Anatomical Precision - When this model's melee damage roll fails to exceed the ARM of the living model hit, that model suffers 1 damage point. A model disabled by a melee attack made by this model cannot make a Tough roll.
- Magic Ability [ _ ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Influence (★ Attack) - Range 10 magic attack. Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model hit. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.
- Psychic Assault (★ Attack) - Range Spray 8 POW 12 Magic Attack. This attack ignores LOS.
- Veteran Leader (Drudge) - While in this model's CMD range, other friendly Drudge models gain +1 to attack rolls.
Thoughts on Cephalyx Overlords
Cephalyx Overlords in a nutshell
Cephalyx Overlords have three uses. A nasty spray to kill enemy infantry. Influence (which is situational but can be awesome). And most importantly Veteran Leader.
Combos and Synergies
Drawbacks and Downsides
- POW 11 hits kill them on average damage rolls
- Scalpel targets
Tricks and Tips
- Keep the unit spread out and mixed in with the Drudges. That bonus really helps.
Notable changes from Mk II
- They gained Veteran Leader
- Gained Stealth
- Gained Partisan (Cryx)
- Lost Sacrificial Pawn (Drudge)
- Gained Veteran Leader (Drudge)
- Lost Death Toll
How can I include this unit in my army?
Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, .. but Cephalyx simplify this completely with their "Selective" rule.
- This model cannot be included in a pure Mercenary army.
- This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
- This model can be included in the following theme forces:
Other Faction Models
Since this model is a partisan, we have omitted displaying the indices (because it'd take up half the page to display everything that is in two full factions). Refer the links instead:
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Partisan (Edit)
- This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
- For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
- Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Selective and/or Limited Employment (Edit)
- Selective models that can work for a faction can, indeed, work for that faction despite Selective's "this model can only work in a Mercenary Theme Force" clause. (Infernal Ruling)
- When working outside their theme, they can have non-theme attachments (eg Madelyn). (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Anatomical Precision - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
Rules Clarification : Influence (Edit)
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit) |
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
Melee Attacks (Influence, Seduction, Bone Shaker, etc)
- Normally the controlled model can't make Gunfighter attacks (because that would be a ranged attack, and most "take control" abilities only allow melee attacks).
- Nor does it allow Point Blank attacks (Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation').
- Controlled models can't get backstrike bonusses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (apdx A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader (Edit)
- The bonus doesn't normally apply to the model giving out the buff, because it (normally) specifies "other models within ...".
- Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)