Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary, & Cryx Partisan, Cephalyx Unit

From below western Immoren emerge the inscrutable cephalyx mind slavers, who have entered into an unholy bargain with the Cryxian Empire. Applying a horrific blend of machinery, alchemy, and disfiguring surgery, the slavers transform their captured victims into powerfully muscled and mechanically enhanced warriors they control to fight and die in their stead.

Basic Info[edit]

Mind Slaver[edit]

Mind Slaver
Cephalyx Drudges.jpg
SPD 6 Average
STR 6 Average
MAT 6 Average
RAT 4 Average
DEF 14 Average
ARM 13 Low
CMD 7 Average
HP 5 Solo
Unit Size 1 Slaver

5-9 Drudges

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Prosthetic Blades - Range 1, P+S 11 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Mercenary - This unit will work for Cryx.
  • Partisan (Cryx) - When included in a Cryx army, this model/unit is a Cryx model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
  • Selective - this model can only be included in a Mercenary force that is using a Cephalyx theme.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Prep for Surgery - While this model is in formation, when a living enemy warrior model in the melee range of two or more models in this unit is boxed by a melee attack made by a model in this unit, remove the enemy model from play. You can then add one Grunt to a friendly non-character Drudge unit in this model's command range. Place the Grunt in formation and completely within this model's command range. The Grunt must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it is put into play.

Drudges[edit]

Drudges
SPD 5 Slow
STR 8 Good
MAT 5 Low
RAT 2 Low
DEF 11 Low
ARM 15 Average
CMD 4 Terrible

Weapons & Attacks[edit]

  • Drudge Weapons - Range 0.5, P+S 12 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Eyeless Sight - This model 1) ignores cloud effects when determining LOS, 2) always ignores concealment and Stealth, and 3) never suffers Blind.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.

Thoughts on Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges[edit]

Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges in a nutshell[edit]

The Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges are the backbone unit of the Cephalyx. Cheap, tough, and can be boosted to be hard hitting.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Drudges get hit by almost anything. Meaning they die easily.
  • In order to hit almost anything you'll need a Combined Melee Attack, Adrenal Rush from the Mind Bender, the Veteran Leader bonus from the Overlords, or more than one of the above.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Don't worry about the drudges dying. Try to save the Slaver.

Notable changes from Mk2[edit]

  • Prep for Surgery changed it so any grunt can now add new members to the unit, rather than just the Slaver. Otherwise, pretty much the same.
  • Gained a point of SPD (Slaver)
  • Gained Stealth
  • Drudges lost a point of POW
  • Gained Partisan (Cryx)
  • Lost Anatomical Precision
  • Lost Granted: Combined Melee Attack, gained it naturally

Other[edit]

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, .. but Cephalyx simplify this completely with their "Selective" rule.

  1. This model cannot be included in a pure Mercenary army.
  2. This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
  3. This model can be included in the following theme forces:

Trivia[edit]

Other faction models[edit]

Since this model is a partisan, we have omitted displaying the indices (because it'd take up half the page to display everything that is in two full factions). Refer the links instead:

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Partisan      (Edit)

  • This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
    • For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
  • Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Selective and/or Limited Employment     (Edit)

  • Selective models that can work for a faction can, indeed, work for that faction despite Selective's "this model can only work in a Mercenary Theme Force" clause. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When working outside their theme, they can have non-theme attachments (eg Madelyn). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Prep for Surgery      (Edit)

  • You don't have to add the new grunt to the same unit as the one that triggered it.

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)