Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary, & Cryx Partisan, Cephalyx Unit

From below western Immoren emerge the inscrutable cephalyx mind slavers, who have entered into an unholy bargain with the Cryxian Empire. Applying a horrific blend of machinery, alchemy, and disfiguring surgery, the slavers transform their captured victims into powerfully muscled and mechanically enhanced warriors they control to fight and die in their stead.

Basic Info[edit]

Mind Slaver[edit]

Mind Slaver
Cephalyx Drudges.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 6
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD 7
HP 5
Unit Size 1 Slaver &
5/9 Drudges
Cost 8 / 12
1.2 each
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Prosthetic Blades - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.

Abilities[edit]

  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Mercenary - This unit will work for Cryx.
  • Partisan [Cryx] - When included in a Cryx army, this model/unit is a Cryx model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
  • Selective - this model can only be included in a Mercenary force that is using a Cephalyx theme.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Prep for Surgery - While this model is in formation, when a living enemy warrior model in the melee range of two or more models in this unit is boxed by a melee attack made by a model in this unit, remove the enemy model from play. You can then add one Grunt to a friendly non-character Drudge unit in this model's command range. Place the Grunt in formation and completely within this model's command range. The Grunt must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it is put into play.

Drudges[edit]

Drudges
SPD 5
MAT 5
DEF 11
ARM 15
CMD 4

Weapons[edit]

  • Drudge Weapons - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon. Even though it's a plural, they only have one attack

Abilities[edit]

  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Eyeless Sight - This model 1) ignores cloud effects when determining LOS, 2) always ignores concealment and Stealth, and 3) never suffers Blind.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.


Thoughts on the Slaver & Drudges[edit]

Slaver & Drudges in a nutshell[edit]

The Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges are the backbone unit of the Cephalyx. Cheap, tough, and they can be boosted to be hard hitting (when taken in a Merc force).

In a Cryx force, they are not particularly popular as Mechanithralls tend to out-shine them. Cryx's Black Industries theme force, that was announced 2017.09, may change that however.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • The Selective rule means that, unlike most Mercenary units, these guys:
    • Cannot be taken in a pure Mercenary force (out of theme)
    • Cannot be taken in a Faction theme force, even if it allows "up to one Mercenary unit."
    • Basically, if you purchase these models, the number of different lists you can potentially field them in is much smaller.
  • Drudges get hit by almost anything. Meaning they die easily.
  • In order to hit almost anything you'll need a Combined Melee Attack, Adrenal Rush from the Mind Bender, the Veteran Leader bonus from the Overlords, or more than one of the above.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Don't worry about the drudges dying. Try to save the Slaver.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Mercenary

Cryx (Edit)

Note: When taken in a Black Industries force, they don't count against your "up to one merc" allowance.

Other Faction models[edit]

CryxLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Agathia - Aiakos2 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Terminus - Venethrax - Scaverous - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Coven
C
R
Y
X
Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine (Cryx) - Skarlock Thrall (Cryx) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC)
Light warjacks Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker
Cankerworm
Heavy warjacks Corruptor - Desecrator - Harrower - Inflictor - Leviathan - Reaper - Seether - Slayer
Barathrum - Deathjack - Erebus - Kharybdis - Malice - Nightmare
Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Living Undead
Units BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters
Characters: Blackbane's Ghost Raiders - The Withershadow Combine
Solos Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Warwitch Siren
Characters: Agrimony - Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Gerlak - Severa Blacktide
Bloat Thrall - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper
Characters: Bane Lord Tartarus - Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger
Battle Engines No living engines Wraith Engine
 
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Merc cryx.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Captain Bartolo - Captain Damiano - Cognifex - Drake MacBain - Exulon - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game.

C
R
Y
X
I
A
N
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Raluk Moorclaw (Marshal) - Rorsh & Brine (Lesser Warlock) - Wrongeye & Snapjaw (Lesser Warlock)
Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Monstrosities The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cryx army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
 
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates & CA & WA - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen


Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Devil's Shadow Mutineers - Boomhowlers

Solos Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber Raiders


Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Doc Killingsworth - [[Eilish Garrity - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw - Rorsh & Brine - Madelyn Corbeau (Attached)- Saxon - Seargeant Nicolas - Stannis - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines None


MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals
Cannot take Colossals
Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Partisan      (Edit)

  • This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
    • For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
  • Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Selective and/or Limited Employment     (Edit)

  • Selective models that can work for a faction can, indeed, work for that faction ... despite Selective's poorly worded "this model can only work in a Mercenary Theme Force" clause. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When working outside their theme, they can have non-theme attachments (eg Madelyn). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Prep for Surgery      (Edit)

  • You don't have to add the new grunt to the same unit as the one that triggered it.

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)