| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Mercenary Cephalyx Command Attachment
No mind is safe from the dominators of the Cephalyx. Using their considerable psychic powers, dominators bend the will of sell-swords and soldiers, forcing them to fight and die for inscrutable reasons. The enslaved are impervious to pain and willingly sacrifice their own lives to save that of their tormentors.
Prosthetic Blades - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Mercenary Cephalyx models instead of Mercenary models.
- Attachment: [Non-Cephalyx Mercenary] - This model can be attached to a Non-Cephalyx Mercenary unit.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
- Limited Employment - This model may only be included in a Cephalyx theme force.
- Anatomical Precision - When this model's melee damage roll fails to exceed the ARM of the living model hit, that model suffers 1 damage point. A model disabled by a melee attack made by this model cannot make a Tough roll.
- Granted: Tough - While this model is still alive and in formation all of the unit gains Tough.
- Linchpin - When the Dominator is destroyed or removed from play, models in its unit must use their Normal Movement to run during the unit's next activation.
- Magic Ability [ N/A ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Seduction (★ Action) - Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model B2B with this model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.
Thoughts on Cephalyx Dominator
Cephalyx Dominator in a nutshell
Most decisions in a Cephalyx army boil down to a player's preferred ratio of monstrosities to drudges but the Dominator is what allows the player to add that personal customization to their army to fit their own play style. The Dominator can essentially steal any small or medium based unit from the large list of mercenaries and while we still don't get access to solos; Cephalyx's caster's strong spell lists usually have something devious to push your average merc unit over the edge on top of the Dominator giving them tough and the ability to spread out more with its max command range.
Combos & Synergies
- Alexia Ciannor & the Risen : Let see...how can we make the game's cheapest source of recycling more annoying. Oh I know let's give them all tough and surround them with living models in the form of drudges that are also tough. Remember that when you create a thrall it becomes a solo and therefore loses the Dominator's tough buff
- Kayazy Eliminators: If you're going for a monstrosity heavy army consider the humble assassin duo. Each model in this group has two initial attacks with a low pow and anatomical precision (The Dominator itself also has one anatomical precision attack). Since Monstrosities gain 1 focus every time they are damaged, you could potentially hand out 5 focus among them, for the price of 5 damage boxes. Furthermore the Cephalyx are all about jamming down an enemy in cheap bodies, the ability to charge through these often clogged melee situations to gut enemy solos/ threaten casters is always welcome. Apart from that Kayazy are simply good especially for contesting distant zones, you might want to have your dominator die though.
- Croe's Cutthroats: Most Mercenaries sure wish they had an easy way to make these guys tough and get easy backstrikes. Cephalyx have both in the form of the Dominator's tough and Thexus's Telekinesis
- Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters: A classic unit to shore up Cephalyx terrible ranged game. The Nyss benefit greatly from tough due to their high cost/model ratio and Cyphon can make them night impossible to hit a range using Blur.
- Lady Aiyana & Master Holt are ranged firepower and a damage buff you can fit in in ways the Cephalyx can't normally do.
- Precursor Knights: You pay a heavy cost in not having the ability to take the UA but possibly make it up by playing these guys with Cyphon. You can get around their spell ward by casting buffs onto the Dominator attached to the group. Still situational but against spell heavy opponents buffable tough Precursor knights can infuriating to deal with.
- Thorn Gun Mages: An insane box full of useful tricks that Cephlyx don't usually have access to: Ranged/Black Penny to un-jam Monstrosities/light things on fire and you can never have enough abilities to move your opponents models into unsavory spots as Cephalyx with thunderbolt.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Lynchpin shuts down the entire unit for a turn.
- Unlike other Mercenary models, they can't go in most themes. So your list-building options are limited.
Tricks and Tips
- Kill the Dominator turn 1 - that way you get a merc unit into your Cephalyx force without the Achilles heel of Linchpin.
- In Warroom, it is found under "Units" instead of "Attachments" for some odd reason.
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Cephalyx Dominator
- If you Dominate a mercenary unit with the Jack Marshal ability, that unit may also take a Mercenary Warjack.
- You can only add one CA to a unit, so the mercenary unit can't have their "normal" CA. For instance, you can't take a Sea Dog Boarding Crew + Dominator CA + Mr Walls UA. (WAs are fine, though.)
- The Dominator will benefit from any buffs the unit members hands out to the whole unit, but not ones that are model-specific. For instance:
- With Boomhowlers he will benefit from 'Reveille' and 'Call of Defiance'.
- With Blythe and Bull he will benefit from 'Prey'.
- With Aiyana and Holt he won't benefit from 'Ayisla's Veil' or Holt's special version of 'Quick Draw'.
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Attachment (Edit)
- You cannot field this model "just by itself".
- Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Selective and/or Limited Employment (Edit)
- Selective models that can work for a faction can, indeed, work for that faction ... despite Selective's poorly worded "this model can only work in a Mercenary Theme Force" clause. (Infernal Ruling)
- When working outside their theme, they can have non-theme attachments (eg Madelyn). (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Anatomical Precision - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted (Edit)
- Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
- Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Linchpin - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Seduction (Edit)
- Seduction does not target. You can take control of someone in your rear arc, if you're B2B.
- Seduction doesn't require an attack roll.
- Depending on the model, sometimes Seduction is a normal action and sometimes it is a Magic Ability.
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
- Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification : Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
- A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
- Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
- You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
- The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Nyss Hunters giving Hunter).
- Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
- If your theme allows a Merc and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless of what the theme's "Allowed models" are. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you do attach the Ranking Office, that Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
- Ranking Officer death
- The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
- The merc unit will keep any spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
- If the merc unit was handing out a buff to 'friendly Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap factions' too.
For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same faction as her, not whatever was friendly at the time of casting. (Infernal Ruling)
- 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)