Category:Combined Melee Attack

From Battle College
(Redirected from CMA)
Jump to: navigation, search
Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks together to get a bonus on accuracy and damage. Edit description

Combined Melee Attack (CMA) is an ability that lets a model team-up with another model or models in its unit to add a better chance to hit/damage an enemy model that normally they might not be able to hit/damage effectively on their own. Models performing the CMA must all be in melee range with the enemy and able to declare a melee attack against it. Choose one of the attacking models to be the primary attacker, normally you would want to choose the model with the highest MAT/POW. For each attacking model you get a +1 to both the attack and damage rolls.

  • e.g. You are performing a CMA with three members of a Stormblade Infantry Unit (MAT 7 P+S 10), two grunts and an infantry officer (MAT 8 P+S 10). They are attacking a Juggernaut heavy warjack (DEF 10 ARM 20).
    • You choose the infantry officer is the primary attacker because his MAT of 8 is highest of the three attackers.
    • The attack roll will be at a +3, because that is the number of models performing the CMA. So effectively they're a MAT 11 for practical purposes. The Juggernaut is a DEF 10, so barring a pair of 1's on the attack roll, there is a good chance the CMA will hit.
    • After hitting you would add a +3 to the damage roll of 2d6's and a POW of 13 vs the ARM 20.


Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.