Mercenary Minion Rhulic Lesser Warlock Solo & Heavy Warbeast
Brun Cragback is a seasoned warrior who would rather kill a man than endure a lengthy conversation. As for Lug, there are few things more terrifying than a twelve-foot-tall armored bear rearing up on its hind legs to roar before charging. No enemy fazes Brun Cragback; whether it flies, slithers, or breathes fire, he will gladly shoot it, chop it down, or send Lug to crush it.
|Brun Cragback & Lug
Weapons and Attacks
- Blunderbuss - 8" range, POW 12 ranged weapon.
- Battle Axe - 1" range, P+S 10 melee weapon.
- Claw x2 - 1" range, P+S 16 melee weapons.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
- Chain Attack Grab & Smash - If this model hits the same model with both its initial attacks with this weapon,after resolving the attacks it can immediately make a head-butt or throw power attack against that target.
- Mercenary - Will work for Cygnar and Khador.
- Minions - Will work for Circle and Trollbloods.
- Immunity: Cold - This model does not suffer cold damage.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Lesser Warlock - Needs to bring at least one warbeast in battlegroup and shares many warlock rules including fury manipulation, but is counted as a solo.
- Flank [Lug] - This model gains +2 to hit and +d6 damage for melee attacks vs enemy models in the melee range of other Lug models.
- Limited Battlegroup: (Lug) - The only warbeasts this model can take are Lug.
- Heavy Warbeast
- Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
- Companion: (Brun Cragback) - This model only comes with Brun Cragback, is part of their battlegroup, and when Brun Cragback dies it leaves play.
- Hyper-Aggressive - When this model suffers damage from an enemy attack, except when advancing, after the attack it can make a full advance directly towards the attacker.
- Return - Immediately after resolving a charge attack, this model can make a full advance towards its warcaster/warlock. This model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
- Deals cold damage and has Critical Stationary.
- Stonehold - Cheap Upkeep One less dice of damage against caster. Caster and models base to base are immune to knockdown.
Thoughts on Brun Cragback & Lug
Brun Cragback & Lug in a nutshell
The dwarf and his counter-charging bear are a great fun lesser warlock and beast combination and, unusually, one where the lesser warlock is not the weak link in the combination (a dice less on damage rolls against him really helps). Unfortunately Lug simply doesn't do the work to make the rather large points investment in him worth it against most lists. His low POW and short threat range do him in.
Combos & Synergies
- The best place to use Brun & Lug is in a minions army - or at least an army with either a Blackhide Wrastler or a Battle Boar. Throwing one of the damage buffing animi on Lug makes him accurate and able to do actual work. (And with Lug's MAT and counter-charge this isn't simply a case of buffs on mediocre models to make them good being less effective than buffs on good models to make them great).
- Freebooter. Yes, they both have Smash and Grab. But Lug also has Bear Hands to set models up for the Freebooter's Trash attack.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Lug simply does not have the hitting power to break enemy heavies; in melee his paws only hit about as hard as Skarath's bite - and Skarath is a ranged warbeast.
Tricks and Tactics
- Smash and Grab is awesome and Lug has the MAT to pull it off.
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Chain Attack Grab & Smash (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Chain Attack (Edit)
- Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can trigger it.
- If you have 3 weapons but only 2 of them are associated with the Chain Attack, then you can make that 3rd initial attack at any point without it preventing the Chain Attack from triggering.
Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial.
For example, the Cryx Nightmare has two Claws with a Chain Attack, plus some Tusks. When he makes his initial attacks he can go:
- [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] ... even though the two Claw attacks weren't sequential.
- [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] - [Tusks] ... even though he did the Chain Attack before getting to his initial Tusk.
- [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack]
- He cannot go ... [Claw] - [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Chain Attack] ... because you must resolve the Chain Attack as soon as it's triggered, or not at all.
- You may also want to refresh yourself on the Rules Clarifications on Throws and Head-Butts.
Rules Clarification : Flank (Edit)
- You can gain the Flank bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
- Melee range is measured from your front arc so you cannot trigger Flank on models in your back arc.
- The target enemy doesn't need to be in the Flanker's LOS, just their melee range.
- Most of the time if something is in your melee range then it is so close it's in your LOS too, and the difference is meaningless.
- But if you have 2" reach and you're jammed up in B2B with a bunch of closely-spaced enemies, you'll find your LOS is blocked. In this case, you might be able to trigger Flank on an enemy model that is "hiding" behind that front row of jammers, even though you don't have LOS to it.
- Flank is not tied to a specific weapon, so Mount attacks and Power Attacks can benefit as well.
Rules Clarification : Heavy (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Companion - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Countercharge (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Triggering Countercharge
- Countercharge does not trigger off an enemy model being placed or pushed.
- Changing facing does count as advancing and will trigger Countercharge.
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
- Even when an entire unit is moving, counter-charge is triggered per model. So you can counter charge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only counter charge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."
What can your opponent do?
- Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
- They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).
Attacks & Boosting
- You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
- You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
- The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
After the Countercharge
- You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. Closed thread
Enemy "Skipping" their movement
- If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
- Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
- However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.
Unit with countercharge
- This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
- Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
- If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
- If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
- If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
- If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).
- Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
- You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
- In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
- Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
- Countercharge plus Admonition
- If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
- Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
- Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
- This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
Rules Clarification : Hyper-Aggressive (Edit)
- Because you must move directly towards your attacker, you cannot change facing after completing your Hyper-Aggressive move.
- HA can be triggered more than once per turn.
Rules Clarification : Return (Edit)
- This ability resolves after your charge attack, not after your Combat Action. Thus, if you have more than one initial attack (ie Lug) then you'll essentially lose your second initial attack.
- If your charge movement is less than 3", then your attack is not a "charge attack" and so you can't trigger return.
- You can trigger return with a Countercharge.
Rules Clarification : Frost Hammer (Edit)
- Remember, stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the recap on stationary for what models can/can't do.
How can I include this model in my army?
Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.
- This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
- This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
- This model can be included in the following theme forces: