Minion Gatorman Light Warbeast
The boneswarm is an undulating mass of osseous debris given horrid life and animation by lingering necromantic energies in places where many have died. Gatorman bokors have learned to control these horrors, directing them to envelop foes in a mass of biting, toothy skulls. The bones of its slain victims are incorporated into the boneswarm itself, allowing it to heal damage and grow stronger and more resilient.
- Bone Strike - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee attack
- Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good.
- Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
- Bone Picker - When this model destroys a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack, this model gains the destroyed model's corpse token and the destroyed model is removed from play. This model can have up to three corpse tokens at any time.
- Death Feast - During its activation, this model can spend corpse tokens to remove d3 damage for each token spent.
- Death-Powered - This model gains +1 STR and ARM for each corpse token it has.
- Steady - This model can't be knocked down.
- The caster gains concealment. Living enemy models suffer -2 to attack rolls while within 2" of the caster. Lasts for one round.
2017.12 Blindwater Dynamic Update
- Gained Steady & Pathfinder
Analysis of Boneswarm
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.
Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.
Boneswarm in a nutshell
The Boneswarm is a cheap light melee warbeast. Doesn't do much, doesn't cost much. But with Steady and Pathfinder and an ability to power it up via the Boil Master the Boneswarm is looking interesting.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- They need Corpse Tokens to be other than walking casualties. And they don't have good threat ranges - although at least get to Pathfinder through things.
Tricks & Tips
- Use Gatorman Posse to screen it so that it can get up the field. The Posse is more durable than the bone swarm. With the Boneswarm hiding behind the gatormen/screening unit, it can use it's animus to make the Posse harder to hit in melee.
- Put Rage on the Boneswarm and it can hit much harder, combine this with it's corpse tokens and it can suddenly start denting heavies.
- Cheap Warbeast for Midas to revive with his feat and able to heal itself with corpse tokens.
- The Boneswarm originally appeared as a model to accompany the Iron Kingdoms Roleplaying Game, which used the D&D 3.0 ruleset.
- It was released into the Hordes game in Hordes: Domination (2011)
- Skorne's Disciples of Agony - (Article) (Category)
- If taken by the solo Wrong Eye, it can be taken in a butt-load more themes (omitted for brevity).
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification: : Warbeast (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.
- If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)
- A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
- An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)
- If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
- Step 4 of Frenzy was errata'd in 2016. Make sure you're using the latest version of the rules.
- You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
- You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
- If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Confirmation)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bone Picker and/or Bone Pile (Edit)
- Even though it's RFP'd, the destroyed model still produces corpse/soul tokens. Because it did reach the destroyed stage. (Infernal Ruling)
- This model only gets the corpse if it's the closest eligible model. Bone Picker doesn't have the "regardless of proximity of other models" wording like Dark Fire does.
- This will hardly ever come up, considering the short range of most melee weapons.
- It'll come up slightly more often for Barnabus2.
Rules Clarification : Death Feast (Edit)
- You roll a new d3 each time you spend a token.
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Death-Powered - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Steady (Edit)
- Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
- For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
- A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
Rules Clarification : Swarm (Edit)
- The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.