Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron
- Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
- Minion - Will work as a Circle Orboros minion, Legion of Everblight Minion, Skorne minion, or Trollblood minion
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Assisted - The Cauldron is not a warrior model. It can advance only during its unit’s Normal Movement. When it advances, it can move up to 5˝ if the Boil Master is within 2˝ of it at the beginning of this unit’s activation. This model is automatically hit by melee attacks. It cannot become stationary or knocked down and never suffers Blind.
- Bring Out Your Dead! - When an enemy living or undead model is destroyed while in this model's CMD range, this model gains the destroyed model's corpse token. When a friendly living model is destroyed by a continuous effect/enemy attack/collateral damage from an enemy attack while in this model's CMD range, this model gains the destroyed model's corpse token. This model can have up to five corpse tokens at any time.
- The Feeding - During its activation, the Cauldron can spend corpse tokens to boost an attack or damage roll for each token it spends.
- Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Puppet Master (★ Action) OR (★ Attack) - Puppet Master is a RNG 10 spell. When it targets an enemy model/unit, it is a magic attack. You can have one affected model reroll one attack or damage roll, then it expires. Puppet Master lasts for one round.
- Seasoning the Sauce (★ Action) - The Cauldron gives itself d3 corpse tokens.
- Spectral Lash (★ Attack) - 10" range, POW 12 magic attack. When an enemy model is hit by this attack, it can be pushed d6˝ directly towards the Cauldron.
- Special Delivery - Once per turn at any time during its activation, this model can remove any number of corpse tokens and place them on a friendly model with the ability to gain corpse tokens that is within 5˝ of it.
| Base Size
- Meat Cleaver - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
- Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Gatorman - the Boilmaster is a Gatorman. The Cauldron is not, and the unit is not a Gatorman unit.
Thoughts on Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.
Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.
Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron in a nutshell
A support unit for models who use corpses (like Barnabas, Lord of Blood or Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers). He also can be used as an expensive but reliable spot removal tool, with his boosted hand cannon that can push people toward him ; boosting to hit with base magic 7 mean he often have >50% odds of killing an engaged infantry model. And d6" of extra threat range is really nice utility.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Big and slow target for the enemy to shoot.
Tricks & Tips
- All three abilities are good - use whichever is appropriate.
- Remember, it's the Cauldron that is the model doing all the work. So, for stuff like Spell Vortex, be careful where you put the Cauldron.
- Released in Blindwater CID (2017.09)
- Ha! The "Master" is not the Officer!
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification : Unarmed (Edit)
- Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
- This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
- Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
- However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Assisted - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bring Out Your Dead! (Edit)
- It can be a bit confusing, but "collateral damage from an enemy attack" is actually a thing even though "collateral damage is not considered to be from an attack". Best not to overthink it.
- The Death Knell needs to be the closest eligible model. It doesn't have the "regardless of proximity" wording like, say, Dark Fire does.
- You can collect corpses from friends that were killed by friendly non-attack damage, such as lighting them on fire or killing them with collateral damage.
Rules Clarification : The Feeding - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Puppet Master (Edit)
- Puppet Master can be put on a model in a unit, and it will be applied to the whole unit. However, as soon as any model in the unit chooses to use it then it expires on the entire unit (so really it only affects one model).
- Puppet Master can be used on "secondary" damage rolls such as Electro Leap, Magic Bullet, etc.
- It can't be used on "stay in play" damage effects like a Scather's AOE.
- If you cast Puppet Master on the same model/unit multiple times (eg Dhunian Knot) it doesn't stack, at all. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Seasoning the Sauce - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Spectral Lash (Edit)
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Special Delivery (Edit)
- It can place any number of tokens on one model. Not on as many models as it likes.
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)