| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Black Ogrun Boarding Party
Cryx Black Ogrun Unit
Of all the pirates preying on the Broken Coast, none are more savage than the black ogrun of Cryx. Once a prize is within reach, these soot-black mountains of corded muscle leap from their vessels and fall upon their victims with a sanity-staggering howl, leaving gory seas and unidentifiable corpses in their wake. Those unlucky enough to survive a black ogrun assault are rounded up like cattle and forced into ship holds bound for the Nightmare Empire, to be slaves in the foundries of Cryx.
|Black Ogrun Boarding Party
| Unit Size
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Harpoon - 8" range, POW 12 gun
- Drag - When this weapon damages an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the damaged model can be pushed directly toward this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the damaged model is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against the damaged model. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its combat action.
- Hand Weapon - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Combined Ranged Attack - This unit can combine their ranged attacks to get a cumulative +1 bonus on accuracy and damage for each model involved.
- Gang - When making a melee attack targeting an enemy model in the melee range of another model in this unit, this model gains +2 to melee attack and melee damage rolls.
2017.11 Black Fleet CID
- -1 MAT, +1 DEF
- Gained Gang
Thoughts on Black Ogrun Boarding Party
Black Ogrun Boarding Party in a nutshell
The Black Ogrun Boarding Party are on a per-model basis the cheapest multi-wound unit in the game. And with a 14" threat range and the ability to drag medium bases they should be extremely worrying for enemy light jacks/beasts and be able to pull medium based shield wall units out of line.
Combos & Synergies
- Anything behind them that's going to charge and demolish whatever they've dragged.
- They can only drag medium- and smaller-bases. Given that most small based models will die instantly, this pretty much means they'll only drag light warjacks.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- ARM 15 and 5 wounds isn't that tough; most charging infantry will take them out in one shot.
- As a shooting unit at more than a point per model and RAT 5 they leave something to be desired.
Tricks & Tips
- Watch for enemy lights.
- Use 2 or 3-man CRAs to help your harpoons hit and damage, and position your models in such a way as to get the melee bonus from Gang against the dragged target.
Released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
Other Cryx models
Rules Clarification: : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
- If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
- Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
- You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
- Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
- Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
- Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
- Drag occurs at Step 14.
- As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.
- You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
- The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
- It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
- They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
- They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
- You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
- You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
- You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
- If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)
- If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
- If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
- You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
- To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
- After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
- After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.
More corner-case Rules Clarifications
- Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
- This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
- When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
- If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
- Shoot the Drag weapon.
- Drag the enemy closer.
- Resolve the free melee attack.
- Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
- However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
- Black Spot + Drag or Catch
- If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Gang and/or Gang Fighter (Edit)
- You can gain the Gang bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
- You can gain the Gang bonus on free strikes, but generally only the first "Ganger" will get it.
- For example, if a target is engaged by two models with Gang, when it leaves the melee range of the first Ganger it suffers a free strike with the Gang bonus. Then it leaves the melee range of the second and suffers a normal free strike.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack (Edit)
- CRA cannot target models in melee, except for huge-based models.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)