Cygnar Arcane Tempest Character Unit
The Black 13th is the elite strike force of the Militant Order of the Arcane Tempest and a weapon of war sharpened to a razor’s edge by relentless service to the crown. Intense fighting has cut the unit’s complement to three: Captain Dixon Lynch, Sergeant Samuel Watts, and Lieutenant Darsey Ryan. When these three fight together, each effortlessly watches the blind spots of the others while combining their fire to tear apart any opposition. For the Black 13th there can never be capture or surrender, only victory or death.
|Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team
|| 5 each
| Unit Size
| 3.3 each
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Lynch & Watts
- Magelock Pistol - 10" range, POW 10 gun.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
- Black Penny - this weapon/attack ignores the "target in melee" DEF bonus.
- Brutal Damage - On a direct hit, gain an additional die on this weapon's damage rolls against the target directly hit.
- Snipe - This attack gains +4 RNG
- Magelock Pistol (x2) - As above, except she has two.
- Entire Unit
- Concentrated Fire - If you hit an enemy, other models in the unit gain a +1 bonus to damage.
- Prowl - While concealed this model has stealth.
- Swift Hunter - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic ranged attack, immediately after the attack it can advance up to 2".
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- True Sight - This model ignores clouds for LOS, and ignores Stealth always.
- Lynch only
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Gained Pathfinder and True Sight
Thoughts on the Black 13th
The Black 13th in a nutshell
They're an elite ranged combat unit. They excel at erasing light/medium infantries from the table ... but with Cygnar's plethora of POW 10 damage-sources their role can become easily redundant.
They were recently buffed with Pathfinder (nice to trigger Prowl) and True Sight (really nice buff, as it counters a lot of anti-ranged defensive tech).
Combos & Synergies
- They fare well with any caster who can boost their ranged capacity (Stryker1, Caine1, Caine2, Maddox, Sturgis1), or their survival (Siege1 is a good choice for Foxhole and his feat).
- Special mention to Haley1 - her feat grants each model get +1 attacks and you can potentially deliver 2x POW 10, 2x POW 11 and 3x POW 12 shots (each preferably with Brutal Damage). Also, you can trigger Swift Hunter off the extra feat attacks too, giving the 13th great mobility.
- They also really like models who can boost their damage, so the usual mercenaries (Aiyana, Gorman, and Ragman) are all useful to capitalize the bonus by Concentrated Fire and Brutal Damage.
- The Sons of the Tempest theme force is a good way to pump up the overall usefulness of this unit. Brutal Damage shots with Pistoleer can hardly be ignored, and they also contribute to the free solo limit.
- Lieutenant Bastian Falk has Rune marked for +2 damage and can be included in the Sons of the Tempest theme.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- They are quite expensive per model. For a single point more you'll get an entire unit of Arcane Tempest Gun Mages, delivering 50% more shots. Also for 11 points you get a minimum unit of Tempest Blazers with way better mobility and increased resilience. For a point less you can buy the mercenary Thorn Gun Mages; another flexible gunslinger unit with greater utility, and 2 more shots than the B13.
- Even though they have multiple damage boxes, they are so squishy that even a POW 9 will kill them on an average roll.
- Don't do much damage on their own, and Cygnar has many other ways for POW10 ranged attacks.
Tricks & Tips
- Concentrated Fire means it's best to attack with Ryan last, because she'll get two attacks at max buff.
- Concentrated Fire applies only to your attacks during your activation, not to stuff like free strikes.
- Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)
- In the lore the two surviving members of the B13, Ryan and Watts accompanies the renegade Caine on his errands - forming the unit known as Caine's Hellslingers.
- The old sculpts are remarkably smaller than the rest of the army - it is advised to base them on an elevated position to avoid making them look like hobbit gunslingers.
Other Cygnar models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Black Penny (Edit)
- You ignore the "Target in Melee" DEF bonus, but if you miss you still need to randomly reassign the shot as per normal.
Rules Clarification : Brutal Damage (Edit)
- Brutal Damage only applies to the model directly hit, so it never affects blast damage.
Rules Clarification : Snipe (Edit)
- Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
- Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.
Rules Clarification : Concentrated Power - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Prowl (Edit)
- You can still benefit from Prowl even if the attacker "ignores concealment".
Because even though they ignore it that doesn't change the fact that you have it, and all you need to do is have it in order to get Prowl.
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter (Edit)
- Swift Hunter must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in the Attack Sequence appendix.
- Swift Hunter does not trigger off special ranged attacks, only basic ones.
- Swift Hunter is not limited to a models' activation; out-of-activation shots can also trigger it.
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : True Sight (Edit)
- You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.