Cryx Bane Unit
Bane Riders are chosen from among the most vicious and spiteful of bane spirits, their minds intact enough to be given positions of prominence among the armies of the Dragonfather. Astride their undead mounts, these malicious thralls can become wraith-like to move through trees and buildings until the moment they strike with their bane blades to cut down enemies their leader has marked with unholy curses.
- Bane Blade - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
- Brutal Charge - This model gains +2 damage on charge attacks with this weapon.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount
- Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Ghostly - This model can advance through terrain and obstacles without penalty and can advance through obstructions if it has enough movement to move completely past them. It cannot be targeted by free strikes.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Vengeance - During your Maintenance Phase, if one or more models in a unit with Vengeance were damaged by enemy attacks during the last round, each model in the unit can advance 3" and make one basic melee attack.
2017.04 Thrall CID
- Gained +1" RNG on their melee weapons
- Lost Curse, gained +1 MAT
- Gained Vengeance (stole it from the Knights)
Thoughts on Bane Riders
Bane Riders in a nutshell
Since the "Bane errata", the Bane Riders can again do what they were intended to : resist small shooting on the approach, impact infantry and threaten heaviest targets by piling up. Why ?
- They resist low POW shooting fairly well thanks to ARM18, which is one of the highest value in the game for heavy cavalry.
- This synergies very well with their new Vengeance ability, as doing some random shots on them and hoping to spike can backfire heavily by triggering Vengeance, which increases their volume of attacks and threat range.
- Their new 2" reach has given them back the ability to pile multiple charges on the same target (like a heavy warbeast or warjack). Double-boosted MAT7 POW15 strikes are a threat to almost anything in the game, especially in a faction that can pile up debuffs on juicy targets. Even if they don't kill their target, they can split up safely afterwards with the combination of Reposition and Ghostly.
Combos & Synergies
- The Wraith Engine has heavy synergy with Bane Riders : it buffs their ARM to 20 against shooting and magic, making them almost immuned to unboosted ranged attacks, and Dark Shroud will allow them to hunt heavies.
- Desecrators gain a focus in their proximity. You can reposition your Riders into or behind its Scather safely to prevent them to get charged by single wound infantry.
- Bane Lord Tartarus's Veteran Leader ability can buff their MAT even higher.
- Darragh Wrathe can make them threaten 13" with Death Ride (16" if Vengeance is triggered), or go to pseudo-ARM20 against anything living in his CMD range.
- Goreshade2 hands out stealth, and they are high value targets for his feat.
- Goreshade3 can bring them back with Mockery of Life or give them Occultation or Scything Touch.
- Skarre1 and Bane Riders are made to work together. They threaten at least 12", which makes great use of her feat : with 3 dices to hit they can reliably take down many infantry models with Impact hits, she raises their charge attacks to absurd P+S levels, and afterwards they camp at least ARM23 against any strike.
- Goreshade2, Coven and Deneghra2 have Curse of Shadows which allows cavalry to impact attack a unit affected by Curse of Shadows, and if they fail to hit carry on with the charge unimpeded.
Downsides & Drawbacks
- With only average boxes and slightly higher than average ARM these guys are prime targets for CRA's. Boosted damage moderately high POW shooting can take one out in one shot.
- They also don't have a lot of ability to stay entrenched in the slugfest so Repositons are key, along with follow ups.
Tricks & Tips
- You can use your Vengeance and Ghostly to go back 3" to get new charges or impact attacks, if needed.
- Reposition and Ghostly allow your Riders to pile multiple charges on the same target, like a heavy, and still spread out afterwards.
- Vengeance can allow you to move out-of-formation grunts back in formation freely.
Other Cryx models
Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge (Edit)
- If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Mount Weapon
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Ghostly (Edit)
- Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
- Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum (Edit)
- Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
- You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
- When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
- Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
- Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
- Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
- Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
- If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
- But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".