Attendant Priest

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
























This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University




















.

For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Attendant Priest
Protectorate Command Attachment

The attendant priest brings the strength of Menoth to mercenaries who choose to receive the deity’s light and truth. Through his earthly vessel, Menoth blesses the weapons of those who do battle in his name, moves aside obstacles in their path, and wards them from the heathen magic of their enemies. Under his watchful gaze, mercs learn to act in concert with Menoth’s legions.

Basic Info[edit]

Attendant Priest
Attend and Priest
SPD 6
MAT 4
DEF 13
ARM 13
HP 5
CMD 9
Cost 3
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Battle Staff - 2" reach, P+S 7 melee attack.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Attachment: [Small- or Medium-based Mercenary] - This model can be attached to a Small- or Medium-based Mercenary unit.
  • Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Protectorate of Menoth models instead of Mercenary models.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Prayers - Choose a bonus from the following options each turn. All members of the unit gain the effects:
    • Aegis - Affected models become immune to continuous effects for one round.
    • Imbued Force - Affected models gain Magical Damage on their weapons for one turn.
    • Warding - For one round, models in formation can't be targeted by enemy spells.

Thoughts on Attendant Priest[edit]

Attendant Priest in a nutshell[edit]

The Attendant Priest is a unit attachment given to a mercenary unit to make them count as part of the Protectorate and provide them a little protection from enemy tricks thanks to abilities like Warding - which can be really useful against e.g. War Witch Deneghra; know your local metagame.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

There are two parts to the combos. Which unit to take and which warcasters have nice friendly Faction buffs that really benefit allied infantry.

Units worth taking in Protectorate

Casters that its worth taking Mercenary units with

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • The Attendant Priest gets no real work done - but makes mercenary units more expensive.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Theme Forces[edit]

The Attendant Priest is allowed in all the themes, because every theme allows a Mercenary unit and their attachments.

Other Protectorate models[edit]

MenothLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
P
R
O
T
E
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
Warcaster attachments Hierophant (Protectorate) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Bastion Seneschal (Marshal) - Durant1 (BGC) - Reclaimer Gatekeeper (Marshal)
Light warjacks Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Blessing of Vengeance

Heavy warjacks Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard

Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Covenant

Battle Engines Vessel of Judgment
 
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Merc menoth.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Ossrum - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

P
R
O
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Rutger Shaw
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Protectorate army depends entirely on which mercenary 'caster is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Horgenhold Artillery - Horgenhold Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Thorn Gun Mages
Captain Sam & the Devildogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Blythe & Bull - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt
Solos Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn
Battle Engines None
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ranking Officer      (Edit)

  • General
    • If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
      For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
    • A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
    • You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
    • The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Nyss Hunters giving Hunter).
    • Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
      This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
  • Themes
    • If your theme allows a Merc and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless of what the theme's "Allowed models" are. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you do attach the Ranking Office, that Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ranking Officer death
    • The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
    • The merc unit will keep any spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
    • If the merc unit was handing out a buff to 'friendly Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap factions' too.
      For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same faction as her, not whatever was friendly at the time of casting. (Infernal Ruling)
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prayers      (Edit)

  • All members in the unit gain the bonus, not just the model that uses the Prayer. (Infernal Confirmation)
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Aegis      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Imbued Force      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warding      (Edit)

  • Models can still be affected by spells that target someone else, such as AOEs and sprays.