Assault Kommando troops advance upon the enemy behind a wall of shields, opening fire with their carbines and poisoning the air with choking gas. Their masks protect them from the lingering effects of their own insidious weaponry while allowing their vision to pierce the fog of war. Brutal and effective, the Assault Kommandos are the edge of the Khadoran sword of conquest.
Flame Thrower - Weapon Attachment
The life of an Assault Kommando who takes up the flamethrower may be short, but he can be sure that many of the Motherland’s enemies will die before him.
| Unit Size
|| 10/16 |
+2 per WA
|1.6 points per model
|See also How to Read the statblock
Leader & Grunts
- Carbine - 10" range, POW (★) gun
- Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
- Carbine - This weapon becomes POW 10.
- Strangle Gas - This attack deals no damage, and on a miss nothing happens. On a hit, centre a 3" gas effect AOE on the model hit. The AOE remains in play one round & while in it, living models lose tough and can't have damage removed.
- Gun Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon.
- Brutal Charge - This model gains +2 damage on charge attacks with this weapon.
- Flame Thrower - 8" spray, POW 12
- Damage Type: Fire - This weapon does fire damage.
- Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in Maintenance phase of owner's turn until the fire expires.
- Leader & Grunts only
- Shield Wall (Order) - Models in this unit get +4 ARM while B2B with another model in the unit, unless the attack originates in their rear arc. Lasts until the beginning of their next activation.
- Flamethrower only
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
Thoughts on Assault Kommandos
Assault Kommandos in a nutshell
Assault Kommandos are an odd mixture of special rules for ranged duels, melee combat, and defensive techs. Most of these have the tendency of working against each other, so you must plan carefully what to do with them on the battlefield. Their immunity against fire and corrosion gives them edge against several opponents (most notably Legion beasts and Protectorate jacks), and they are suitable to take out light infantry - which is still somewhat uncommon in Mk3.
Combos & Synergies
- Assault Kommandos benefit from being taken by their "themed warcaster", Strakhov1 who gives them +1 to attack rolls.
- Somewhat oddly, though, Strakhov2 couldn't care less about them - possibly he already selected the best of the best into his unit. Alas, they can still be good targets for his support spells, if there are no better recipients around.
- Irusk 1 and Irusk 2 are the prime infantry-support casters. Beside the spells and feats the former's Battle Plans and the latter's built-in Tactician and granted tough provides extra flexibility and resilience for them.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- They have plenty of special rules, that works against each other (like Shield Wall and Assault), causing them to fall between two stools.
- They lack the hitting power to hurt big beefy guys and/or heavies with a charge, and will die to retaliation.
- They are pricey, don't do enough damage at range, and can be removed too easily to be good jamming troops either. Terrain can also mean problem for "the edge of the Khadoran sword of conquest"
- Pretty strong in-faction competition:
- Want a solid shield-wall unit? IFP, Black Dragons, and MoW Shocktroops are all better choices.
- Mid-range shooting with some close combat? Winter Guard Infantry then.
- Need to quickly remove lots of light/medium infantry? Kayazy boys and girls get the job done faster, cheaper, and under the protection of Stealth.
Tricks & Tips
- Got some Kommandos stuck in melee? After moving the unit, shoot the Flamethrowers first to clear them out of melee then they can shoot normally. You're fire immune, so be generous with the torch.
- There are several things, that prevent you from targeting an enemy with your flamethrower (Madelyn's Parlay, Vindictus' feat, Hymn of Passage by the Choir, etc). In such case, run up in front of your intended target with a commando. Target him with the flamethrower - he will receive no damage, and you can hit your enemy regardless of the restrictions.
Other Khador models
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Strangle Gas (Edit)
- The AOE is not a cloud effect, but it is a gas effect. Probably the only gas effect in the game.
Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge (Edit)
- If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helio's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification: : Assault (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
Step 1: Declare the charge
- Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
- If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
- If no, continue to Step 2.
- Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
- You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).
Step 2: Move the charging model
- As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
- Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
- Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
- Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
- Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
- Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
- Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
- Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
- If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot
Step 3: Make the ranged attack
- The ranged attack is optional.
- Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
- Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
- Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
- If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
- Is the target in melee with the shooter?
- If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
- If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.
Step 4: If you miss
- If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
- If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
- Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
- Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
- If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.
Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack
- If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
- If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
- still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
- dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
- Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).
- Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Corrosion (Edit)
- A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Alchemical Mask (Edit)
- "Gas effects" is undefined in the rules, so pretty much never comes into play.
- You don't ignore the damage from walking into hazardous clouds.
Rules Clarification : Shield Wall (Edit)
- You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
- You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
- Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc. This means that if a damage roll doesn't have an origin point (such as Scather or continuous fire) then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
- It won't work vs stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
- If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
- Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.
- Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)
- You get your Shield Wall bonus vs Continuous Fire. Because it doesn't expire until the unit activates. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.