Artificer General Nemo & Storm Chaser Finch

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Warcaster Unit

Sebastian Nemo's myriad innovations from the storm chamber to the modern colossal have given Cygnar a crucial technological edge over its enemies. Promoted to the rank of Artificer General, Nemo now holds authority over all Cygnar's military industry, and he wields his nation's most advanced weaponry. Nemo's assistant, Storm Chaser Adept Caitlin Finch, takes to the battlefield at his side, utilizing precisely tuned mechanical apparatus to augment Nemo's command over warjacks to unparalleled mastery.

Basic Info[edit]

Nemo3
Nemo3.jpg
SPD 5
MAT 5
RAT 6
DEF 14
ARM 16
CMD 9
FOCUS 7
HP 14
WJP +25
Base Size Small
See also How to Read the statblock

Nemo3[edit]

Weapons & Attacks[edit]

  • Lightning Strike - A POW 12 gun with a range equal to his current control range.
  • Tempest Accumulator - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon. If you're using this it means you're in trouble.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster Unit - All warcasters come with a stack of standard special rules - most notably being awesome. Furthermore, this warcaster comes with some troopers that can be ordered around.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.

Spells[edit]

  • Chain Lightning - Average range, low POW spell that deals Electrical Damage. On a hit you get d3 electrical arcs, each hitting the nearest model within a short range that hasn't already been hit.
  • Electrify - Upkeep spell that grants an ARM buff and Repulsor Field to a model/unit. (Repulsor Field - When this model is hit with a melee attack, after the attack is resolved the attacker is pushed 1" directly away.)
  • Force Hammer - Cost 4, 10" range, POW 12
Non-incorporeal models are slammed d6" directly away from the spell's point of origin, before making the damage roll. Collateral damage, if any, is POW 12.

Feat : Eye of the Storm[edit]

While in Nemo's control range, friendly Faction models gain an addiitonal die on electrical damage rolls. Eye of the Storm lasts for one turn.

Finch[edit]

Nemo3's unit comes with Finch. She is not a Grunt, she is a character trooper.

Finch
SPD 6
MAT 5
RAT 5
DEF 14
ARM 12
HP 5
Base Size Small

Weapons & Attacks[edit]

  • Electrical Bolt - 10" range, POW 10 gun.
  • Tuning Fork - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon. Again, it's not a good thing if you're using it.
    • Disruption - A warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Fine Tuning - While this model is in formation, Nemo can upkeep a spell for free.
  • Power Booster - When Nemo allocates focus to a warjack in this model's CMD range, that warjack is allocated an extra focus point.


Thoughts on Nemo3[edit]

Nemo3 in a Nutshell[edit]

Nemo's feat and spell list largely dictates what you're doing - you're bringing lightning and you're bringing all of it. Given the nature of most lightning-focused jacks and units, it means you'll probably end up with a combined arms force with Storm Knight infantry and cavalry or Storm Striders that all have effective ranged and melee attacks. The amount of damage on his feat turn can be truly back breaking for your opponent as even heavily armoured models are under threat from Electro Leaps.

He is one of five Cygnaran battlegroup warcasters:

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

General Advice[edit]

Nemo3's normal win condition is attrition - to electrocute all the enemy until they stop moving, then claim the scenario.

Working out what to take in Nemo3's army is almost too easy - look at the model's card, if it has an electrical attack, Lightning Generator or Electro Leap it should be up for consideration.

Warjacks[edit]

  • That being said, Nemo doesn't mind an Arc Node for Chain Lightning, so Thorn or a Lancer are worth considering. Lightning Shroud makes them more effective and protects them from all the electricity bouncing around, too. Of course Nemo's favourite arc node if you have the points is the Hurricane with its two giant lightning guns.
    • Thorn is also a potentially amusing target for Electrify. If the enemy hit him in melee, they get pushed back. If they miss him, he can dodge away. This means Warjacks can have a hard time taking him out on their own.
  • Dynamo. His bond with Nemo makes him a much safer bet and Eye of the Storm makes his already impressive damage output insane. Throw in a Firefly to take heavy beasts and jacks off the table with ease.
  • The Firefly buffs lightning damage.
  • The Stormclad and the Reliant both do electrical damage.

Units[edit]

Solos[edit]

  • The Journeyman Warcaster can control a firefly for you as a fire and forget way to apply Ionization to enemy models. It also means you have two ARM buffs between Arcane Shield and Electrify.
  • Captain Arlan Strangewayes can dish out a further focus to any heavies you don't want to allocate to, such as a Stormclad who can get a further focus through Accumulator. He also has a spray attack with electrical damage if you're feeling brave with him.
  • Stormsmith Stormcaller - more lightning.
  • Major Katherine Laddermore gives you a nice accuracy buff for nearly every single unit with a lightning attack.
  • All of the warcaster attachments are useful in some way:
    • Reinholt allows for another shot out of the sweet gun, and can remove stealth on key models to allow for electro-leaps to go further.
    • The Squire increases the range of his gun, although he usually has an abundance of focus thanks to finch.
    • Sylys allows him to upkeep two spells for free.
    • Madelyn can help keep squishy Nemo safe from warrior models.

Battle Engines[edit]

  • The Storm Strider brings its own set of boostable lightning attacks that obviously synergise well with Nemo's feat.
    • One of the big issues with most ranged lightning-typed weapons is that they are used by models with average RAT values (Typically no more than RAT6). A well-positioned Storm Strider suddenly turns vast swathes of the army into snipers.

Drawbacks, Downsides, & Bad Match-Ups[edit]

  • His armies tend to end up with ranged weapons that predominantly have electrical damage. This can mean his army has a hard time dealing with models with Electricity Immunity outside of melee.
  • Remember that the warjack has to be in Finch's command range to gain the free focus.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Remember that shooting your own electricity immune troops can be a good way to clear enemy models. This is even threatening to Warcasters and Warlocks on Nemo's feat turn, especially those that rely on high DEF to keep them alive.
  • Finch's melee weapon does have Disruption. If you're desperate, you can use her to delay any warjack that breaks through your line to get at Nemo.
  • A big one to remember about his feat is that it is your model that has to be in Nemo's control range to benefit, not your opponent's - This means that Nemo can be far away from the front line if you need him to be (or your other models pressing deep into enemy lines).
    • Nemo's feat does affect electro-leaps, so long as your model that caused it was in his control range. You can get tons of electro-leaps with 3D6 damage into the backfield on feat turn, which can be murderous to support models and soft casters.
  • Consider a Hunter for Lightning Shroud. Extended Control Range and a Control Range Electro Leaping weapon can make for some entertaining tactics.

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

The main difference here is that Nemo 3 and Finch are now a warcaster unit instead of a warcaster and an attached solo. This allows some versatility by allowing Nemo 3 to take other attachments like the Squire or Sylys. Further, Nemo 3 lost Fail Safe, but gained Magnetic Field, and with how Electrify works now, he has a moderate ARM buff for a whole unit. He also lost Supercharge, so no more changing his control area, and now that all models with Electricity Immunity can no longer be arced to, he also lost his Lightning Field ability.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any-and-all casters (Edit)

Other faction models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Lightning Strike (Nemo3's gun, not the animus)

  • If you wish to shoot at one of your own Hunters, which have Extended Control Area, then the range of the gun is doubled as well.

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Lightning Generator - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.

Rules Clarification : Electro Leap      (Edit)

  • Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
  • A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Fine Tuning - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Power Booster - None yet. (Edit)


Rules Clarification : Chain Lightning      (Edit)

  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:

Rules Clarification : Electrify      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Repulsor Field      (Edit)

  • A model that starts B2B and hits you will be exactly one inch away after resolving Repulsor Field, so will still be just in range to hit you with a 1" melee range weapon. Similarily, after 2 hits they will be exactly 2" away and still ... etc.
  • Push (Edit)
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Force Hammer and/or Thunder Strike     (Edit)

  • An Incorporeal model will be damaged by this spell, but not slammed.
  • The slam distance for the spell is not halved vs larger models - that only applies to a Slam Power Attack.
  • See also the rules clarifications on slamming.

Rules Clarification : Lightning Shroud      (Edit)
Since Lightning Shroud only applies to melee weapons, it doesn't affect Power Attacks.

Rules Clarification : Electro Leap      (Edit)

  • Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
  • A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:

Rules Clarification : Magnetic Field - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit Finch's tagged abilities, Click here