| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Cygnar Character Solo
Among Cygnar’s greatest living battlefield generals, Archduke Alain Runewood has given up the comfort and safety of his estates in aid of his country and his king. Wherever his command fights, Runewood leads from the heart of battle. His tactical acumen is finely honed, and his inspiring presence pushes his sword knights to fight fearlessly in the face of even the most dangerous foe.
Weapons and Attacks
- Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun.
- Vindicator - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- 'Jack Marshal - All 'jack marshals share the same set of special rules, which basically amount to: This model is not a warcaster but may control a warjack.
- Drive : Reposition [5"] - While in this model's CMD range, a warjack under its control gains Reposition [5"]. (Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.)
- Battle Plan - Once per activation, at any time, this model can issue one of the battle plans listed below:
- March - Target warrior model/unit within 5" gains Pathfinder for one turn.
- Path to Victory - Target friendly Faction warrior model/unit within 5" gains +2 to charge attack rolls for one turn.
- Reveille - Knocked down friendly Faction models in this model's CMD range immediately stand up. Models that became knocked down this turn are not affected by Reveille.
- Veteran Leader [Sword Knight] - While in this model's CMD range, other friendly Sword Knight models gain +1 to attack rolls.
Thoughts on Archduke Runewood
Archduke Runewood in a nutshell
Runewood is a support piece for melee-centric Warcasters and units. You primarily want to use him for his Battle Plans, most notably Pathfinder, and the occasional hand cannon shot. He's capable in Melee, but only as a last resort to defend other models behind your front line.
Combos & Synergies
Most of Cygnar's melee units love Path to Victory to make their charge attacks truly stellar. But notable beneficiaries include:
- Sword Knights start to go from fairly average to more elite warriors when near Runewood. When combined with Flank: Faction Warjack, their MAT is effectively among the best in the game.
- Lord Commander Stryker likes to have his charge attack hit, particularly when using Overload. By using Path to Victory, he doesn't have to rely on Positive Charge to take on high DEF casters. March can also useful to circumvent any difficult terrain between Stryker and his target.
- If you want to make use of his drive there are a small handful of jacks where being marshaled is actively superior to being run by a warlock/warcaster.
- The Sentinel is a cheap shield guard with multiple attacks - and with Reposition it can move out, shoot, then move back to a shield guard spot.
- The Cyclone is never going to have the focus to boost all its shots. But can get a flat to hit or damage bonus on both.
- The Hammersmith likes the way it can get up the table faster with Reposition - and Strike True gives it a better chance of getting its chain attack to work than focus would.
- On paper the Stormclad works well if you can use its Accumulator and Captain Arlan Strangewayes' Empower alongside the Crush! order for 4 P+S 21 attacks.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- His defensive stats are fairly average, he doesn't want to be near the front line.
- While his Drive is useful, he doesn't do anything fantastic for any of the Warjacks he can control. For controlling a Stormclad, the Stormblade Captain can offer the same Drive as well as the source for Accumulator without needing a 3rd model or unit.
Tricks & Tips
- Battle plans aren't an action. This means you can use them before running, after completing a successful charge or in addition to making ranged or melee attacks.
- His Drive with the Hurry command can yield a surprisingly mobility for SPD4 jacks. Trample forward 4+3", then reposition another 5; that's 4" more than you would get with running.
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal (Edit)
- Marshals can take character jacks (unlike in Mk2). (Closed thread)
- Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
- They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous (unlike in Mk2).
- 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Drive (Edit)
- If the Drive is on an Officer model, and that model dies, then the new unit commander does not inherit the Drive.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Battle Plan (Edit)
- A model can issue a Battle Plan to itself (assuming it meets the 'model type' criteria).
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Path to Victory - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Reveille - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader (Edit)
- Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
- Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
- Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)