| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Arcane Tempest Rifleman
Cygnar Arcane Tempest Solo
These highly skilled marksmen serve as an expansion of the armed might of the Militant Order of the Arcane Tempest. Armed with steely nerve, long-ranged magelock rifles, and witheringly effective combat magic, arcane tempest riflemen operate autonomously to neutralize enemy officers or to help bring down hard targets. Training alongside CRS scouts affords them greater awareness when navigating battlefields, able to identify enemy forces attempting to move unseen.
Weapons and Attacks
- Magelock rifle - 14" range, POW 10 gun
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
- Deadly Shot - Instead of making a damage roll to resolve an attack with this weapon, you can choose to have a model hit by this weapon suffer 3 damage points instead. A model disabled by this attack cannot make a Tough roll.
- Snipe - This attack gains +4 RNG
- Ward Breaker - The weapon gains Blessed.
- Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon.
- Arcane Precision - If this model uses its Normal Movement to aim, it ignores Stealth that activation.
- Marksman - When damaging a warjack/warbeast with a ranged attack, the attacker chooses which column/branch takes the damage.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
Thoughts on Arcane Tempest Rifleman
Arcane Tempest Rifleman in a nutshell
The Arcane Tempest Rifleman is the cousin to the Gun Mage Captain Adept, slightly cheaper and giving up the ability to pick two different magical shot types in order to gain an extra 4" of range. And with shot types more focused on killing than the sheer utility the Captain Adept brings.
Combos & Synergies
- Unsurprisingly for a Cygnar model with a gun, the Rifleman doesn't mind a unit of Rangers near his target.
- A second Rifleman lets you take out an arc node or kill a solo in a turn. Combine them with Eiryss 2's Death Shot to take out 1,5 damage grid even on the heaviest target.
- Combining multiple Deadly Shots with Alten Ashley against Warbeasts means that you can likely cripple its Spirit aspect reliably, and your opponent has no reply thanks to Grievous Wounds.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- His DEF is good, but not outstanding; while his ARM is basically a sheet of paper. If he gets hit, there is an excellent chance he will die.
- For an extra point the Gun Mage Captain Adept can bring nearly the same destructive potential against all but the hardest targets, with the added support toolbox.
Tricks & Tips
- You've an incredible range between the long rifle range and Snipe - easily catching models from turn 1 with a single advance, if going second.
- Originally published in Prime Mk3 [Verification needed]
Other faction models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Deadly Shot - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Snipe (Edit)
- Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
- Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.
Rules Clarification : Ward Breaker (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification : Arcane Precision (Edit)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
Rules Clarification : Marksman and/or Precision Strike (Edit)
- These abilities do not get around Retribution Force Fields. The attacker's ability assigns it to a column, and Force Field reassigns it.
- Versus a Colossal or Gargantuan, you don't get to choose which grid is damaged. That is still governed by which Firing Arc the attacker is standing in.
- Attacker chooses column vs Defender chooses column (Edit)
- When both the attacker and defender have an ability that lets them choose the column that gets damaged, the attacker gets to choose. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)