Arcane Tempest Rifleman

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Arcane Tempest Solo

These highly skilled marksmen serve as an expansion of the armed might of the Militant Order of the Arcane Tempest. Armed with steely nerve, long-ranged magelock rifles, and witheringly effective combat magic, arcane tempest riflemen operate autonomously to neutralize enemy officers or to help bring down hard targets. Training alongside CRS scouts affords them greater awareness when navigating battlefields, able to identify enemy forces attempting to move unseen.

Basic Info[edit]

Arcane Tempest Rifleman
AT Rifleman.jpeg
SPD 6
MAT 5
RAT 7
DEF 14
ARM 11
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Magelock rifle - 14" range, POW 10 gun
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Attack Type - When you make an attack with this weapon you must choose one of the following types:
      • Deadly Shot - Instead of making a damage roll to resolve an attack with this weapon, you can choose to have a model hit by this weapon suffer 3 damage points instead. A model disabled by this attack cannot make a Tough roll.
      • Snipe - This attack gains +4 RNG
      • Ward Breaker - The weapon gains Blessed.
  • Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Arcane Precision - If this model uses its Normal Movement to aim, it ignores Stealth that activation.
  • Marksman - When damaging a warjack/warbeast with a ranged attack, the attacker chooses which column/branch takes the damage.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.

Thoughts on Arcane Tempest Rifleman[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally:

  • Have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, and
  • Have reviewed this article and either you
    • agree with the content 100% or,
    • for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Arcane Tempest Rifleman in a nutshell[edit]

The Arcane Tempest Rifleman is the cousin to the Gun Mage Captain Adept, slightly cheaper and giving up the ability to pick two different magical shot types in order to gain an extra 4" of range. And with shot types more focused on killing than the sheer utility the Captain Adept brings.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Unsurprisingly for a Cygnar model with a gun, the Rifleman doesn't mind a unit of Rangers near his target.
  • A second Rifleman lets you take out an arc node or kill a solo in a turn. Combine them with Eiryss 2's Death Shot to take out 1,5 damage grid even on the heaviest target.
  • Combining multiple Deadly Shots with Alten Ashley against Warbeasts means that you can likely cripple its Spirit aspect reliably, and your opponent has no reply thanks to Grievous Wounds.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • His DEF is good, but not outstanding; while his ARM is basically a sheet of paper. If he gets hit, there is an excellent chance he will die.
  • The Rifleman is a decent model - but there are a lot of other and more durable ways of doing the same thing.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • You've an incredible range between the long rifle range and Snipe.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Originally published in Prime Mk3 [Verification needed]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other faction models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege
C
Y
G
N
A
R

(Edit)

Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Stormblade Captain - Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Trencher Cannon - Trencher Chain Gun - Trencher Commandos - Trencher Infantry
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Trench Buster - Trencher Master Gunner
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Storm Strider
 
Theme Forces
Storm Division - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.

Rules Clarification : Deadly Shot - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Snipe      (Edit)

  • Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
  • Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.

Rules Clarification : Ward Breaker      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants an ability, and it's then the ability which gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, Blessed does not ignore the indirect DEF from Ashen Veil.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).

Rules Clarification : Arcane Precision      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.

Rules Clarification : Marksman and/or Precision Strike     (Edit)

  • These abilities do not get around Retribution Force Fields. The attacker's ability assigns it to a column, and Force Field reassigns it.
  • Versus a Colossal or Gargantuan, you don't get to choose which grid is damaged. That is still governed by which Firing Arc the attacker is standing in.
  • Marksman vs Death Ward (and similar) (Edit)
    • When both the attacker and defender have an ability that lets them choose the column that gets damaged, the attacker gets to choose.
    • The reason is, the attacker is the Active Player so his ability resolves first. And part of resolving Marskman is actually marking the damage. So by the time the Inactive Player gets to resolve Death Ward, it's moot.

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)