Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire

From Battle College
(Redirected from Alexia2)
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Character Cavalry Solo

Astride her horrifying skeletal steed, the infamous Alexia Ciannor reaps the souls of her enemies with the hell-forged blade Witchfire. The dark sorceress can raise an army of terrifying thrall warriors from the grave and rides alongside them as she lays about her with her sword, leaving nothing but ashes where she strikes.

Basic Info[edit]

Alexia2
AlexiaMistress.jpg
SPD Fast
MAT Average
RAT Average
DEF Good
ARM High
Relative HP High
Relative Cost Elite


Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Animosity (Morrowan models) - This model can't be included in the same army as Morrowan models.
  • Mercenary - will work for Cygnar and the Khador.
  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
  • Magic Ability [ _ ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Grave Summons (★ Action) - This model can spend Soul Tokens to put Thrall Warriors into play.
    • Hellfire (★ Attack) - RNG 10", POW 14
      Target cannot make a Tough roll and a model boxed by Hellfire is removed from play.
  • Reposition [_"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to _", then its activation ends.
  • Soul Taker: Collector - This model collects souls from living enemies who die within its CMD range. This model can store up to three souls and spend them for the following:
    • Arcane Vortex - Can negate spells targeting nearby models by spending a _ token. The negated spell's COST is still paid.
    • Soul-Powered - This model can spend souls to gain melee attacks during its activation.
    • Strength of Death - This model may spend soul tokens to boost attack or damage rolls.

Thrall Warrior[edit]

The Thrall Warrior is a separate solo. You start with 0, but can end up with a theoretically infinite number of them via Grave Summons.

Thrall Warrior
SPD 6
MAT 6
DEF 11
ARM 14
HP 1

Weapons[edit]

  • Great Sword - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Created - This model does not begin the game in play. Instead, it is created by other model's abilities.

Thoughts on Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire[edit]

Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire in a nutshell[edit]

Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire is a powerful support solo able to both counter enemy spells and to summon a collection of weapon master infantry, as well as to snipe solos with boosted Hellfires. A nice powerful solo who is reliant on the death of enemy living models to do almost anything.

Combos and Synergies[edit]

  • She really is a case of a "Know your enemy" solo.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • She's dependent on the death of enemy living models; she does almost nothing to warjack lines.
  • She needs to be near the enemy when they die. Which tends to leave her in range of being sniped out - and she gets countered by enemy soul collectors.
  • She's expensive and a big target.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Use her Reposition to hide her behind walls

Changes from Mk2[edit]

  • The metagame changed against her with more warjacks and less infantry. So her cost went down.
  • Lost Ghost Shield
  • Lost a point of Magic Ability
  • Hellfire special attack now ignores Tough
  • Souls can now be spent on three different abilities: Arcane Vortex, Soul-Powered, or Strength of Death
  • Lost Arcane Vortex as a given, regained it as a Soul Taker ability
  • Lost Mage Killer
  • Gained Cavalry special ability and Reposition

Other[edit]

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.

  1. This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
  2. This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
  3. This model can be included in the following theme forces:
    • None yet

Other Mercenary models[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Animosity      (Edit)

  • When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Mount Weapon
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)

Rules Clarification : Grave Summons - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Hellfire - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Collector - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex      (Edit)

  • Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex.
  • The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
  • Arcane Vortex vs Primal Shock (Edit)
    • The warbeast that is chosen as the point of origin can not be negated by Arcane Vortex.
    • The "target a model within 8 inches" is the part that can be negated by arcane vortex.
    • There are some other parts that the Infernals are currently checking.
    • (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Soul-Powered - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)