Mercenary Character Cavalry Solo
Astride her horrifying skeletal steed, the infamous Alexia Ciannor reaps the souls of her enemies with the hell-forged blade Witchfire. The dark sorceress can raise an army of terrifying thrall warriors from the grave and rides alongside them as she lays about her with her sword, leaving nothing but ashes where she strikes.
- Witchfire - 1" range, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 10 mount attack
- Animosity [Morrowan] - This model can't be included in the same army as a Morrowan model.
- Mercenary - will work as a Cygnar mercenary or a Khador mercenary.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Reposition (5") - at the end of an activation it can move 5" and then end its go. Doesn't apply if it ran or failed a charge.
- Soul Taker: Collector - This model collects souls from living enemies who die within its CMD range. This model can store up to three souls and spend them for the following:
- Arcane Vortex - Can negate spells targeting nearby models by spending a soul token. The negated spell's COST is still paid.
- Soul-Powered - This model can spend souls to gain melee attacks during its activation.
- Strength of Death - This model may spend soul tokens to boost attack or damage rolls.
The Thrall Warrior is a separate solo. You start with 0, but can end up with a theoretically infinite number of them via Grave Summons.
| Thrall Warrior |
- Great Sword - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
- Created - This model does not begin the game in play. Instead, it is created by other model's abilities.
Thoughts on Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire
Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire in a nutshell
Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire is a mobile toolbox of abilities that depend greatly on her proximity to living enemy models when they die. With 3 souls, she can drop 3 thralls, back up and hope to collect 3 more in the same turn to enable her Arcsne Vortex. Without them, she hangs her hat on unboosted Hellfires and the odd charge, which isn't much but at least it removes models from play. She is priced like a Talon but is far easier to kill and only occasionally is she more useful. Not a popular choice until she's allowed free in a theme.
Combos and Synergies
- Single model buffs like Storm Rager or Bullet Dodger are acceptible on her, but she likes Macbain's feat most of all.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- She's dependent on the death of enemy living models; she does almost nothing to warjack lines.
- She needs to be near the enemy when they die. Which tends to leave her in range of being sniped out - and she gets countered by enemy soul collectors.
- She's expensive and a big target.
Tricks & Tips
- Use her Reposition to hide her behind walls
Released in Warmachine: Colossals (2012)
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Animosity (Edit)
- When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mount Weapon
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Grave Summons - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Hellfire - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Collector - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex (Edit)
- Mulg spends fury to use it, he is not forced for fury. (Infernal Ruling)
- Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
- Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex.
- The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
- Arcane Vortex vs Primal Shock (Edit)
- The warbeast that is chosen as the point of origin can not be negated by Arcane Vortex.
- The "target a model within 8 inches" is the part that can be negated by arcane vortex.
- There are some other parts that the Infernals are currently checking.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Soul-Powered (Edit)
- You cannot buy melee attacks after casting a spell, due to the "The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any." rule. And none of the spells you can cast specify that additional attacks can be made.
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)