Agata, Queen of Carnage

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Agata, Queen of Carnage
Minion Farrow Character Solo

There is no fury like a pig scorned

Basic Info[edit]

Agata, Queen of Carnage
Missing Info
Agata.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR N/A
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 15
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Punch Daggers (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapons
    • Combo Strike (★ Attack) - Make a melee attack. Instead of making a normal damage roll, the POW of the damage roll is equal to this model's STR plus twice the POW of this weapon. Total P+S = 17

Abilities[edit]

  • Minion - Works as a Circle Orboros minion, Legion of Everblight Minion, Skorne minion, or Trollblood minion.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Parry - This model cannot be targeted by free strikes.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Duelist - This model gains +2 DEF against melee attack rolls.
  • Riposte - When it is missed by an enemy melee attack, immediately after the attack is resolved this model can make one basic melee attack against the attacking model.
  • Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.
  • Sprint - At the end of an activation in which it destroyed or removed from play one or more enemy models with melee attacks, this model can immediately make a full advance, then its activation ends.


Thoughts on Agata, Queen of Carnage[edit]

Agata, Queen of Carnage in a nutshell[edit]

A roving ball of death, Agata can make a boosted P+S 17 charge attack - or kill a couple of enemies before sprinting to something approaching safety. Or she just unjams enemies.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Ragnor Skysplitter, the Runemaster can put his Pulverizer buff on her for +2 STR and Beat Back which increases her movement shenanigans.
    • Note that Beat Back doesn't work on out-of-activation attacks, so doesn't stack with Countercharge or Riposte.
      (Although, technically, it is possible to trigger countercharge/riposte during Agata's activation. That's very rare though.)

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • She needs screening - the enemy will try to shoot her off the board. It's easier than trying to melee her off, at least!

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • When you counter-charge, try to do so to the side of the enemy to set up next turn's charge.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released for the Widower's Wood boardgame (2016-2017), then for Company of Iron (2017), then finally for Hordes.

Theme Forces[edit]

Minion
Circle Orboros (Edit) Legion of Everblight (Edit)
Skorne (Edit) Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models[edit]

MinionsLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Wrong Eye
Gatorman Warbeasts (Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
  M  
I
N
I
O
N
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Unaligned
Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow
Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned Efaarit Scout - Feralgeist -Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Gobber Raiders - Thrullg - Totem Hunter
Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hutchuck - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin - Raluk - Saxon Orrik - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Combo Strike - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • Even when an entire unit is moving, countercharge is triggered per model. So you can countercharge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only countercharge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Enemy "Skipping" their movement

  • If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
  • Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
  • However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).

Rules Clarification : Duelist - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Riposte      (Edit)

  • You can't resolve Riposte from a free strike because, by definition, the attacker is in your rear arc and thus you can't target them.
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, Dodge triggers before Riposte (Appendix A Step 12 vs Step 14).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Side Step      (Edit)

  • You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
  • You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
  • If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sprint and/or Run & Gun     (Edit)

  • You cannot use this ability after an out-of-activation attack (such as Countercharge), only during real activations. (Locked thread)
  • You can't purchase additional attacks after the move, because you can only buy attacks during your Combat Action and by definition "the end of your activation" happens after "your Combat Action".
  • Differences
    • With Sprint, you cannot trigger other abilities that also occur "at the end of activation" (such as Reposition), because Sprint includes the phrase "and then its activation ends". Click here for a detailed explanation
    • Run & Gun doesn't have this restriction.
    • Run & Gun won't trigger if you RFP the model, but Sprint will.