| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Cygnar Character Light Warjack
Designed in secret by the Cygnaran Armory to carry out covert operations for the Cygnaran Reconnaissance Service, Ace was built as a one-of-a-kind prototype. The machine integrated an experimental mechanikal device intended to camouflage the warjack, rendering it almost invisible in the field. Though the original chassis of the ’jack was destroyed during an operation in Llael in 596 AR, Allister Caine was able to recover Ace’s cortex. Since the warjack’s reconstruction, Caine has relied on it during a number of CRS missions requiring an abundance of both discretion and firepower.
Weapons and Attacks
- Battle Axe - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Rune Shot Cannon - 14" range, POW 12 gun.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Infiltrate - Once per game, Ace can gain stealth for one round. Also, if its controlling warcaster is B2B they also get stealth.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- True Sight - This model ignores clouds for LOS, and ignores Stealth always.
- Bond [Caine] - If this model begins the game in Caine's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Caine and in their CTRL range, 3 new Attack Types on its Rune Shot Cannon:
Thoughts on Ace
Ace in a nutshell
Despite being a prototype based on the pre-existing Hunter chassis, Ace doesn't really fulfil the same role as that 'jack. Really, he wants to be going after those key support models, generally solos, that lurk near jacks or behind units.
Besides being a solo hunter extraordinaire thanks to True Sight, Ace is good for clearing out small Stealth units from long range using Trick Shot. Ace is also handy for getting a reliable Shadow Fire onto a key model blocking Caine2's line of sight by virtue of using his Power Up focus to boost to hit - because if you're taking anything in Caine's army, chances are it's to help him kill the opponent's Warcaster or Warlock.
Combos & Synergies
As a rule of thumb, Ace is a very self-sufficient warjack with any version of Caine. It is usually satisfied with the power-up focus, and you will usually use it to boost the attack roll to land an important hit on key targets with Shadow Fire, or Trick Shot.
Ace can allow Caine1 to be extremely aggressive with his feat, as you run both of them forwards first turn (declare Infiltrate before starting the run) to get Caine positioned for a deadly, or at least wickedly inconvenient, feat on turn 2 that his enemies can't ignore. Sure, Caine1 can be this aggressive all on his own but Ace can make it a safer and more appealing prospect to try and pull off.
Shadow Fire attack can help Caine get a clear view on a hiding warcaster. And it is also another source for Trick Shot beside Caine's guns.
Ace is a huge point burden, with its 12 point he is only a tad-bit cheaper than another Cyclone, a jack which is considered to make the most out of Caine3's feat. However, Caine has to play forward to reliably deliver Calamity, and occasionally the stealthy aura from Infiltrate is all he needs to be safe from retaliation. Watch out that it only cloaks Caine, and not the B13 members.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- The melee weapon is there for looks; if you're using it you're probably wishing you weren't.
- The gun, and by extension the entire jack, is really only interesting if it's getting the sweet buffs from the Caine bond. Otherwise it is usually too expensive for what it does.
Tricks & Tips
- The "Bounce-off" - if you can't see a certain squishy support model, aim at something you can see and then Trick Shot into your real target.
- Trick-shot is great against lynchpin models with Sacrificial Pawn or Sucker! (like Kovnik Joe, or Madelyn). Because even if the initial shot has been re-assigned, the bouncing POW10 hit will get them. And the 4" radius of the Trick Shot surpasses the range limits of both abilities.
- This entry first appeared in Warmachine: Reckoning expansion book (2015).
- Ace's first use by Caine is told in The Warcaster Chronicles: Volume One: The Way of Caine by Miles Holmes (April 30 2013)
- Heavy Metal (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Caine's battlegroup.
- Sons of the Tempest - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Caine's battlegroup.
- Storm Division - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Caine's battlegroup.
- The Irregulars - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Caine's battlegroup. Ace becomes a Mercenary model.
- Llaelese Resistance - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Caine's battlegroup. Ace becomes a Mercenary model.
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Ace & Caine3 (Edit)
- When Caine3 is taken in a Cygnar army, Ace can go in his battlegroup as per normal.
- When Caine3 is taken in a non-Theme Mercenary army, Ace cannot go in his battlegroup because they're different factions.
- When Caine3 is taken in a Theme Mercenary army, Ace can go in his battlegroup because of the special rules about Themes & Character jacks.
- (Infernal Ruling for all of the above)
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Infiltrate (Edit)
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : True Sight (Edit)
- You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Shadow Fire (Edit)
- Shadow Fire vs Roadblock (Edit)
- If you use Shadow Fire vs a Roadblock model then the Roadblock will still grant cover to nearby models; even though you can "see right through it".
- Because the rule for getting cover from an obstacle is simply: does a line pass between the attacker and target that goes over/through the obstacle? Is the target within 1" of the obstacle on that same line?
- In other words, whether the obstacle actually blocks LOS or not isn't relevant.
Rules Clarification : Thunderbolt (Edit)
- If you have multiple effects that resolve on "hit" (such as Thunderbolt & Electro Leap), then you get to choose the order.
- Thus, you could trigger Electro Leap first (and bounce from their initial position), then move them via Thunderbolt.
- Or trigger Thunderbolt first, move them, and then Electro Leap (and bounce from their final position).
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Trick Shot (Edit)
- Trick Shot triggers at Step 8 of the attack sequence, after stuff like Shield Guard, so will bounce from the Shield Guard model not the original target.
- Not considered an attack (Edit)
- The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
- The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
- The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
- The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
- It's not an attack from a weapon so:
- it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
- it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
- It is a damage roll from a model so: