• Chain Attack [Dark Shroud] - If this model hits the same target with both of its initial attacks with these 2 weapons, it triggers Dark Shroud. (Dark Shroud - Enemy models in in this model's melee range suffer an ARM debuff.)
  • Chain Attack [Brutality] - If this model hits the same target with both of its initial attacks with these 2 weapons, after the attack is resolved it may make a free head-butt against that target.
  • Chain Attack [Grab & Smash] - If this model hits the same target with both of its initial attacks with these 2 weapons, after resolving the 2nd attack it gets a free power attack against that target: Double-handed throw, single-handed throw, head-butt, headlock/weapon lock, or push.
  • Chain Attack [Bloodbath] - If this model hits the same target with both of its initial attacks with these 2 weapons, after resolving the attack it may immediately make one melee attack against every model in its range and LOS.
  • Chain Attack [Smite] - If this model hits the same target with both of its initial attacks with these 2 weapons, after the attack is resolved it may make a free slam power attack against that target. You gain the POW of the weapon on the slam damage, but not collateral damage.

Chain Attacks vary in nature - some deal extra damage, some allow extra attacks, and some simply trigger a special effect. All are similar in one thing, though - you need to hit the same target with both weapons, on your initial attacks.

Often the controller of a model with a chain attack will invest fury or focus to boost initial attack rolls to help ensure the chain attack happens. Any ability that can help the defending model prevent the hits will prevent the chain attack. Note that preventing the damage (high ARM) doesn't prevent the chain attack.


Rules Clarifications

Chain Attack
  • Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can.
  • Changing the order of your initial attacks (if you have a third, non-Chain Attack weapon) will not prevent a Chain Attack. Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial afterwards.
    • For example, the Cryx Seether can go {Claw - Tusks - Claw} and still trigger Chain Attack with the Claws even though they were out of order.


Who has this ability?

Brutality

Bloodbath

Dark Shroud

Grab & Smash

Smite


pencil.gif
Note to Editors
To include the description on a model entry, use:
The description can only be edited from this page, using the almost-invisible edit button at the top right of this page (not the normal large edit button).
 
* [[include page="inc Chain Attack dark shroud"]]
(or)
* [[include page="inc Chain Attack brutality"]]
(or)
* [[include page="inc Chain Attack Grab & Smash"]]
(or)
* [[include page="inc Chain Attack Bloodbath"]]
(or)
* [[include page="inc Chain Attack Smite"]]
 
And don't forget to add the {Chain Attack [XXX]} tag to the model, too, so that it will appear on the above list!

To include the rules clarifications on a model entry, use:
The rules clarifications can be edited from any page, using the small edit.
 
[[include page="RC chain attack" editable="true"]]